Proverbs 8: Now I Want that Time Machine

Artwork Copyright  Kristi Bridges
Artwork Copyright Kristi Bridges

Prov 8:27 I was there when He set the heavens in place, when He marked out the horizon on the face of the deep, 28 when He established the clouds above and fixed securely the foundations of the deep…30 Then I was constantly at His side. I was filled with delight day after day…

I’m jealous. I’ve been asked, “If you had a time machine, what time would you go back and visit?” I always answer that I like the time I’m in. But now—what a concept, to be there at creation! Reminds me of a Douglas Adams book, but 1,000 times more intense.

I don’t have a time machine yet. But I do get to be right by God’s side while He does awesome things. The pink Bible, for example. Let’s step back in time a few years.

Scene 1: My grandparents had a neighbor who liked to cook. Every couple of days, she’d send over her her two little girls. They’d knock on the door, and then struck silent by shyness, they’d hand Grandma a plate or bowl and run off. Those two skittish servers delivered the best beans and cornbread, stew and birthday cake and made my Grandma smile. This past year, their mom has had a hard time financially.

Scene 2: Across the country 2 weeks ago, I arrived at the office. It was my last day of class, and one of my students had left a pretty gift bag on my chair. Inside were some neat souvenirs from the Dominican Republic (she’s from there and I’m dying to visit!), as well as a pink purse-Bible, with little pockets inside and a zipper.

Scene 3: Back home, I’m sitting in my fuzzy robe with coffee and my new Bible, when the cake-baking former neighbor texts to see if I’m coming to her daughter’s birthday party. She doesn’t have much money for presents, or a car to go shopping, but her daughter asked for one thing and she wants to get it for her. Next text: “Do you know where I can find a pink Bible?”

Dontcha just love our God?!

Use us, Lord. Make us part of Your story!

One thought on “Proverbs 8: Now I Want that Time Machine

Leave a Reply

