Proverbs 14: Snarkweak

If You've Only Got a Moustache

Proverbs 14:6 The mocker seeks wisdom and never finds it, but knowledge comes easily to those with understanding…9 Fools make fun of guilt, but the godly acknowledge it and seek reconciliation.

Snark comes naturally in my family. I don’t think any of us had to learn it really: at two, we were smart, at three we were smartypants, and by 4 we’d become what goes into smartypants 😉

I gotta say, I still keep my blades sharp, though mostly inside my head, and I enjoy writers and comedians who bring society’s ills to light while making me laugh.

Today’s verses are a good reminder, though. Do we think before we make fun of others’ ideas or behavior? Do we repost things that provoke people to judge God along with His kids? Have you noticed a creeping numbness in your soul, where sacred things once felt special? Pride often hides behind humor, and if we get blinded by our own limelight, we can’t see the deeper truths someone might be awkwardly sharing, and we don’t address our own shortcomings. God knows our hearts better than we do, so let’s ask Him to keep us humble.

Lord, thank You for demonstrating humility and world-changing power at the same time, so that we know it’s possible. Please nudge us when we climb precariously onto our cardboard thrones, pointing fingers and puffing ourselves up. Help us to stay open to Your truth in every situation so that we may grow in wisdom and leave pride behind.

I still think it’s okay to laugh at some of the silly things we do. Get a giggle with these links:

Chonda Pierce talks about her girl’s getaway

Steven B sends me rolling with his observations on people praying.

One thought on “Proverbs 14: Snarkweak

  1. You are so right! I know I used to pride myself on quick come-backs. I did more damage than I ever want to remember not even realizing it before it was too late. 😦 I’m trying to learn to think first. Just because it sounds like the perfect quip in my head, doesn’t mean it’s the perfect thing to say. It could turn out to be a dastardly curse when spoken at the wrong time. Please be considerate of others, I try to remember. That is much more important and definitely cuter than smarty pants! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

