Meet Mathias

Say, "I'm Proud of You!" and watch Mathias grow.
Say, “I’m Proud of You!” and watch Mathias grow.
We pay about twice as much for groceries today as we did 10 years ago. Each year, prices go up and we fuss. What if the cost of everything doubled from 2015 to 2016? Inflation is aggravating but bearable when it progresses over time, but in Togo the currency was devalued by 50% in 1994. Since then, the small African nation has been trying to find a President who can help them. Unrest is still the norm, with approximately half the population below the poverty line.

According to the World Health Organization, life expectancy in Togo was around age 57 for males and 60 for females in 2013. The country needs medical personnel, drinkable water, malaria prevention, AIDS treatment and income generating activities. Compassion International works through CDE Bethel Methodiste Agbodrafo to provide healthcare, field trips and educational materials, as well as training for the students’ parents.

Meet Mathias, who lives with his mother and 5 siblings. He likes playing marbles, but I bet this 7 year old would love it if someone said, “I’m proud of you!” I bet he would grow to be part of the solution for his community. If you place your bet along with me, you’ll feel like you won the lottery every time you get a letter from Mathias. I know gambling isn’t the Proverbs way, but Jesus certainly took a gamble on us, and I’m so grateful.

Romans 5:8 But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

This month, I’m participating in Compassion International’s “Release 3” project, praying that the three children whose information I have on my desk today will connect with three of you. John Michael, Mathias and Deysi just need a few years of your time to make it through those upcoming teen years and into an adulthood that actually holds real promise instead of just dreams. I’d love for all of my readers to find a Compassion kid—I can not describe to you how awesome it is to see your little bit go so far towards someone’s security and future.

Please let me know if you’d like to sponsor Mathias, and I’ll send you the information. If you have any difficulty responding through WordPress, find me on Facebook or email me at quequelmique@yahoo.com.

28 thoughts on “Meet Mathias

Leave a Reply

