Gualmart

photo by Ivan Alvarez
photo by Ivan Alvarez

Our grocery budget has doubled in the past five years or so, and it’s not because we’re eating gourmet. Gas prices, wage increases and other factors have an impact, and I see that impact on my weekly receipt. $38 isn’t much, but if you’re feeling stretched financially, I’d like to help.

1st rule: Anything you give to God can be multiplied in God’s hands. After all, He’s the Creator. Instead of continuously making things from scratch, He chooses to use our contributions, so that we can enjoy the process. Give Him a try, and I bet your income will miraculously be enough for all your needs. I can say that, because I’ve put Him to the test myself.

Where do you shop?

Walmart – Have you heard of the Savings Catcher app? When you leave the store, just open the app. It takes a picture of your receipt and checks competitors in your area for lower prices. Then it credits you the difference. Savings Catcher credit can be turned into a Walmart gift card whenever you like.

Target – Target sends mobile coupons directly to your phone, and they also have a website called Cartwheel, where you can get coupons that may be used up to four times and can often be used on top of other sales and coupons. In addition, Target’s Red Card has a debit option. You don’t have to pay credit card interest rates or fees, and you still save 5% on every purchase.

I do much of my shopping at Aldi’s, where the produce is fresh and cheap, the store is small and I’m out in 20 minutes. They pay their employees well, and I spend less when my options are fewer.

Wherever you go, loyalty programs abound, so check into your grocery chain and see what savings you’ve been missing. Then share those savings with a child whose family rations their rice, and be thankful for the delicious options we have here. I certainly enjoy my kitchen!

I am participating in Compassion International’s “Release 3” project, and I am praying that the 6 children whose packets I have on my desk today will be sponsored by someone who reads my blogs this month. John Michael, Mathias, Deysi, Bryan, Erich and Mitiku need your friendship and $38 per month, to make it out of extreme, tummy-growling poverty and into adulthood with skills and opportunities instead of wishes. Let me know which child you’d like to sponsor, and I’ll send you the information. Share this with your friends, too.

In case you wonder, I will never take your money or your credit info. I will send you to the Compassion site and provide you with sign-up information for these children. I get nothing but the joy of knowing that I helped a few more children by spreading the word.

If you have any difficulty responding through WordPress, find me on Facebook or email me at quequelmique@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

