Mr. October – Part 2

copyright Kristi Bridges
copyright Kristi Bridges

“I’m coming home for spring break.” Devonte? “I’d love for you to meet my girl.”

It was him. Eric shook his head at the phone. “Dude, it’s been 2 years.”

“I know, I’ve been volunteering at the Norman fire department when school’s out, so I haven’t had the chance to come home. But I’m getting married, and I want everyone to meet her. You’ll love her,” Devonte was a voice from an old TV show. All those afternoons in junior high and high school seemed like episodes of some coming-of-age drama. Doh! An alien came out and Eric lost his Captain. He’d been so close to the next level. “Eric? You okay man?”

“Yeah. I’m not really sure where I’ll be during spring break, but maybe we can work something out. I’ll let you know.”

“You remember when we decided to be firemen? You still think about that?”

“Oh man, that was eighth grade!”

“Yeah, but we spent the whole summer turning my uncle’s junkyard into an obstacle course so we could train. That stuff’s paying off for me now. What was the name of your mom’s friend?”

Eric couldn’t stop a smile. “Angelika,” he said, holding the L against the roof of his mouth as he remembered the crush he’d had on the single lady his mom worked with. She’d had a calendar of the local firemen showing off their muscles, and Eric found his calling. Until his crush moved to Dallas. “I’m not into all that now,” he shrugged.

“Alright, I’ll call you when I get to town and we’ll hook up.”

“Yeah, sure.” Eric took a swig of soda and went back to the game, pretty sure he was going to lose his phone just before spring break.

Stay tuned for more!

I am participating in Compassion International’s “Release 3” project, and I am praying that the 3 children whose packets I have on my desk today will be sponsored by someone who reads my blogs this month. BryanMitiku and little Miss Erich need your friendship and $38 per month, to make it out of extreme, tummy-growling poverty and into adulthood with skills and opportunities instead of wishes. Let me know which child you’d like to sponsor, and I’ll send you the information. Share this with your friends, too.

In case you wonder, I will never take your money or your credit info. I will send you to the Compassion site and provide you with sign-up information for these children. I get nothing but the joy of knowing that I helped a few more children by spreading the word.

If you have any difficulty responding through WordPress, find me on Facebook or email me at quequelmique@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

