Mr. October – Part 3

gate in backyard

“Oh my gosh, baby look! There’s a little gate around the patio, a door to close off the kitchen, and no stairs!” Jalie patted her growing belly and said, “You’re going to be so safe and happy here, cutie pie!”

Rowan put his arm around her and said, “We might even be able to fit all the baby stuff your sisters gave us.” He turned to the realtor with a smile and said, “This is the one.”

~~~~

Dashi was running around the house picking up dishes and laundry when Eric got home from work. “Hi, honey, can you run the vacuum?”

“What?”

“I have to finish the curry and set the table before Jalie and Rowan get here.”

“Who?” Eric’s forehead crinkled and he walked around the corner to the dining room. “The table?” Whoah. The 2 year old mound of mail was gone and the table was set.

“Our new neighbors from across the street are coming over for dinner. I really like Jalie, and we figured it was time we got our men together.”

He let out a grunt but knew it was too late to fight it. Dinner turned out to be less than a trial, once the girls stopped trying to initiate conversation between the guys with their awkward questions and embarrassing revelations. Apparently, Rowan liked the same games as Eric. He gave him a run for it in XCOM, and by the end of the night the girls had to pry the remotes out of their hands. Six hours ‘til he had to get up for work, but Eric had a buddy for the first time in awhile.

More tomorrow!

I am participating in Compassion International’s “Release 3” project, and I am praying that the 3 children whose packets I have on my desk today will be sponsored by someone who reads my blogs this month. BryanMitiku and little Miss Erich need your friendship and $38 per month, to make it out of extreme, tummy-growling poverty and into adulthood with skills and opportunities instead of wishes. Let me know which child you’d like to sponsor, and I’ll send you the information. Share this with your friends, too.

In case you wonder, I will never take your money or your credit info. I will send you to the Compassion site and provide you with sign-up information for these children. I get nothing but the joy of knowing that I helped a few more children by spreading the word.

If you have any difficulty responding through WordPress, find me on Facebook or email me at quequelmique@yahoo.com.

2 thoughts on “Mr. October – Part 3

Leave a Reply

