Mr. October – Part 4

copyright Kristi Bridges
copyright Kristi Bridges

“I’m almost ready, I promise. Look, I’m putting my shoes on—oh, I almost forgot my earrings!” Devonte sighed. This woman, Lord! He stood up from the couch and picked up Younique’s tiny party purse, just big enough for keys and lipstick. She sat in the chair by the door and leaned over to buckle her sandals. Her hair obscured her face, but he ran his hand along her back, framed by the red silk dress, drawn up above her shoulder-blades like a theatre curtain. She’d gotten so excited you’d think it was their prom, but they were just chaperones at the school where he coached. She never went to her own prom, so he was going all out for her. She stood up and he took a long, slow drink with his eyes. “You look beautiful.”

~~~~

Boom! Eric glanced at the TV but knew the house-rocking noise was bigger than his awesome surround sound. The girls were already at the door, and Jalie screamed “NO!” Rowan bolted for the door and kept running. Their new house was on fire. The house next door had a flaming hole where the kitchen had been. Eric called 9-1-1.

~~~~

Devonte growled as his pocket vibrated. He took one hand off his wife and pulled out his phone. “Mm!” he growled.

“Right now? Baaaby?” she whined softly.

“Gotta go.”

“Well put it out in a hurry and come back to me,” Younique’s pouty mouth was hard to leave.

Come back for 2 more episodes!

I am participating in Compassion International’s “Release 3” project, and I am praying that the 3 children whose packets I have on my desk today will be sponsored by someone who reads my blogs this month. BryanMitiku and little Miss Erich need your friendship and $38 per month, to make it out of extreme, tummy-growling poverty and into adulthood with skills and opportunities instead of wishes. Let me know which child you’d like to sponsor, and I’ll send you the information. Share this with your friends, too.

In case you wonder, I will never take your money or your credit info. I will send you to the Compassion site and provide you with sign-up information for these children. I get nothing but the joy of knowing that I helped a few more children by spreading the word.

If you have any difficulty responding through WordPress, find me on Facebook or email me at quequelmique@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

