Mighty with the Willing

black pods
copyright by Kristi Bridges

 

The bed looked so good. A temporary tryptophan coma—the turkey day theme song is played in the key of zzzzzz…

Psst, c’mon, we’re gonna run out of daylight. Sometimes I think God gets excited about showing us things. He must, because He does the coolest stuff. It’s gone before half of it gets noticed, but He’s too creative to quit, so you know He’s like “Hey, come look what I did today!” I put on my capris and my old Scaterd Few long-sleeved t-shirt. Bare calves may get muddy, but wet pants hold the cold. I grabbed my big yellow water-resistant, fleece-lined hoodie, my camera and my keys. Said g’bye to the hubby. “Missy, where are your shoes?” In the car  of course–I’m always prepared for a hike. I tiptoed down the sidewalk barefoot and he stood there grinning at his little loon. He bought me the camera for my birthday a few years ago, when I was planning to go scuba diving. I didn’t get to go, but right then, I was totally grateful to have a camera that can stand the rain. Once I was on the road, I didn’t even know where I wanted to go, so I asked God to make up my mind. Mary Oxley Nature Center—I arrived with an hour to spare before sunset.

In September, when summer ducked behind a cloud and the temperatures hit 80, I knew fall was coming. I’m a Florida transplant in Tulsa, and I get sad when swimsuit weather wanes. I didn’t want to stay indoors all winter, though, so when the weather was still 80, I made a plan to do my fall photo hikes in the rain. Water does neat things to nature. However…Thanksgiving day was 60 and soggy. Nap? Mud-wear? Nap? Mud-wear?

And God said, Psst! C’mon, we’re gonna run out of daylight. Wow. You really do good work, Lord.

P1040357
copyright by Kristi Bridges

 

 

 

 

The ink had spread almost to the Western edge of the sky when I returned to my car. I didn’t want to go. I pulled my lake afghan from the trunk and sat at the picnic table by the road, watching indigo bleed into the last bit of violet until they were one. The rain pattered on my hood and it was a happy song, because underneath it I was dry and warm. Warmth spread through my insides, because I wasn’t swathed in a cocoon of slumber, exploring only what my mind could invent as it recycled the morning’s events. I was in God’s house, and though my heart has gone through some significant flux since I wrote the song, it swelled at that moment just like it had on a night several years ago, when I stood on the shore of the lake watching a storm roll in, feeling the rush of wind push at me, preparing to shift me like the rocks it tumbled in the tide.

You, You are mighty with the willing

You push, gently nudge the sleepy tide

And my heart is changing

Like the waves that roll before the rain

You are mighty, You are mighty with the willing

July midnight, my chest tight

I stretch my arms out, feel the cool rush

And my heart is changing

Full to leaking with this love

You are mighty, You are mighty with the willing

With Your love, You hush my uproar

Your quiet voice, oh it comes on the sea’s roar

Now I can name what I’ve felt here before

And You sing

You are mighty, You are mighty with the willing
Ooh, a little water can move shoreline

It swells up the sky and my eyes

And my heart is changing

Bit by bit I’m reborn and reshaped and revived

You are mighty, You are mighty with the willing

With Your love, You hush my uproar

Your quiet voice, oh it comes on the sea’s roar

Now I can name what I’ve felt here before

And You sing

You are mighty, You are mighty with the willing

And my throat, it opens like the space in the clouds

Where there’s two stars on the other side

And they’re waiting for the sound

Of the worship I can’t hold back

Of the love inside this moment when I’m swept away in Your wind

And the storm is leashed

And it waits for Your command

You are mighty, You are mighty with the willing

—Kristi Bridges ©2010

Click here to hear “Mighty with the Willing” recorded by Goliath Down

winding rivulets - tar road
copyright by Kristi Bridges

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mighty with the Willing

  1. Wow! Just WOW!!!
    I’m so glad you got to go and explore, see and feel. Isn’t God good!!!
    I love you soooooo!!! And I love the sense on “Life” that you have. Thank you Kristi for sharing that light of life with all of us. I’m humbled and very grateful!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

